Skip to content

Our board

Riverina Local Land Services is governed by a board of local people.

Board members work closely with landholders and local communities to identify and deliver services that are relevant to local needs.

Local boards are comprised of a mix of Ministerially-appointed and elected board members who bring a wealth of skills, experience and commitment to the organisation.

The Chair and three board members are appointed by the Minister for Primary Industries – the remaining three board members are elected by Local Land Services ratepayers.

Together they focus on the strategic direction of the organisation, promoting the services offered, encouraging partnerships and building strong relationships with investors while also communicating the priorities and concerns of customers to local boards.

Section 29 of the Local Land Services Act 2013 sets out the functions of local boards. They are legally binding and should be interpreted as the definitive reference regarding the role of local boards.


Barney Hyams, Batlow

Barney has more than 30 years of involvement in both agriculture and horticulture and has represented the Australian apple and pear industry for many years. He was a Ministerially-appointed member of the inaugural Board of Riverina Local Land Services.

Appointed Board members

Elke Cleverdon, Young

Diana Gibbs, Eunanoreenya

Tony Wallace, Murringo

Elected Board members

Peter Speirs OAM, Temora

John Davey, Ariah Park

Helen Dalton, Binya

Enrol to vote – 2017 board elections

Ratepayers must enrol before being eligible to vote in the Local Land Services Board elections

In May 2017 enrolled ratepayers will vote to elect three local board members (or four in the Western region) to join 11 regional Local Land Services boards.

Enrol online or complete an enrolment form at your nearest Local Land Services office.